The Letter M

Over the last few days, I have continuously found myself linking things of significant importance to me to the letter M. This all started when I was discussing my many tattoo ideas with an artsy friend of mine. I have a couple that I want, but I first I have to step up and get my first one. For almost 2 years now, I have planned on getting a tattoo and have made a dozen excuses or didn’t have the money. The tattoo is going to be the image at the beginning of this post: the Metallica M. This tattoo signifies many things in my life that I never want to let go of:

  1. M is for Moreland, my last name. My family. Like every family, we are not perfect. We have our hiccups, our ups and downs. After all, we are all human beings. But from my great grandparents, who were like my second set of parents, all the way to my parents and my cousins and all generation between, I couldn’t begin to thank them for everything they have done for me. I love my family. Every single one of them. Direct blood or not, they mean the world to me. 
  2. M is for Music. I have said it before and will say it one hundred times more before my writing days are over: Music completes me. When the company of family and friends can’t make things better, music has always been there for me. The rhythm and the words, they are moving. Each song is like a new story. It can be my classic boys like Metallica or Pantera, all the way to modern day electronic. It all gets to me and I love every second of it. I praise and preach music like a religion and I don’t think that will ever change. 
  3. M is for Mopey. Call it silly if you want, but Mopey is a form of nickname I have acquired in my lifetime. Since he could walk, much like myself, my father grew up in a bowling alley. Over the years, he acquired the name Mopey. It has stuck with him for decades now. So when he had a son, it was only right that he become Mope Jr or Little Mope. As time went own, his name has passed down to me and I love to think I can make him proud. Like most people would say, my parents are legends to me. I like to think my dad has begun a legacy and I am the prodigy meant to continue his story. If I have a son, he would do the same. Nickname or not, they don’t call me Mopey for nothing. 
  4. M is for Metallica. Now this one has multiple meaning and I’ll start with the reason I ever began to listen Metallica. When I was young, my older cousin was in the best friends I ever could’ve asked for growing up. He was like a brother to me. His father (my uncle), passed away at a young age. The last holiday we celebrated as a family when he was with us was Valentine’s day or Easter, I believe. As a gift from my uncle, me and my cousin received The Black Album by Metallica. This was the beginning of my love for the band and explains half of why the band means so much to me. The second half only happened last year, in August. My father, like myself, went to concerts growing up any time he had the money and the chance. He loves music as well. One band he had never seen was Metallica. We found out they would be playing in Minnesota and I didn’t even give him many details or know ticket prices before he said “Buy them!”. We had to drive 10 hours, got to stay in the Mall of America and share the experience of seeing Metallica for the first time together. It was the most memorable night of my life to this date and I am looking forward to seeing them not once, but two more times this year! 

Before seeing the Metallica shows on June 4th and 11th of this year, I will commit to getting this M tattoo on my right shoulder. I hope this has been a bit informative to you all when it comes to knowing me more as a person. Everyone in this world has something, a word or a name, a phrase or a title that they may be proud of. For me, it is but one letter. The letter M. 

Leave a Reply

